skip to main content, skip to Quick links, or skip to Search

main content

Infectious Disease Participating Faculty


Kevin Anderson
Bovine mastitis, detection of antimicrobial residues, improved therapy and diagnosis
Title: Professor of Ruminant Health and Production Medicine
Phone: 919 513 6245
FAX: 919 513 6464
E-mail: kevin_anderson@ncsu.edu

John Barnes
Avian Models of Ovarian Cancer
Title: Professor of Poultry Health Management
Phone: 919 513 6273
FAX: 919 513 6464
E-mail: john_barnes@ncsu.edu

Adam Birkenheuer
General internal medicine and infectious disease
Title: Assistant Professor of Small Animal Internal Medicine
Phone: 919 513 8288
FAX: 919 513 6336
E-mail: adam_birkenheuer@ncsu.edu

Luke Borst
Streptococcal Pathogenesis and Cancer Metabolism
Title: Assistant Professor of Pathology
Phone: 919 515 8287
FAX: 919 513 6464
E-mail: luke_borst@ncsu.edu

Ed Breitschwerdt
Detection, characterization, and treatment of canine/feline bacterial pathogens
Title: Professor of Small Animal Internal Medicine
Phone: 919 513 6234
FAX: 919 513 6336
E-mail: ed_breitschwerdt@ncsu.edu

Fred Fuller
Biology of equine infectious anemia virus
Title: Professor of Microbiology and Immunology
Phone: 919 515 7396
FAX: 919 515 4237
E-mail: fred_fuller@ncsu.edu

Isabel Gimeno
Poultry Pathology and Immunology
Title: Assistant Professor of Poultry Health Management
Phone: 919 513 6852
FAX: 919 513 6464
E-mail: Isabel_Gimeno@ncsu.edu

Jody Gookin
Cryptosporidium parvum and Tritrichomonas foetus
Title: Associate Professor of Small Animal Internal Medicine
Phone: 919 513 6295
FAX: 919 513 6336
E-mail: Jody_Gookin@ncsu.edu

Jim Guy
Biology of alphavirus infections of domestic poultry
Title: Professor of Poultry Health Management, Virology
Phone: 919 513 6287
FAX: 919 513 6455
E-mail: jim_guy@ncsu.edu

Bruce Hammerberg
Allergic diseases and nematode biology
Title: Professor of Parasitology
Phone: 919 513-6226
FAX: 919 513-6455
E-mail: bruce_hammerberg@ncsu.edu

Lee-Ann Jaykus
Molecular biological methods for the detection of pathogenic microorganisms in foods
Title: Professor of Food Science
Phone: 919 513 2074
FAX: 919 513 0014
E-mail: leeann_jaykus@ncsu.edu

Michael Levy
Immune response to hemotropic protozoa and rickettsial parasites
Title: Professor of Parasitology
Phone: 919 513 6293
FAX: 919 513 6455
E-mail: mike_levy@ncsu.edu

Michael Martin
Avian Disease Prevention
Title: Assistant Professor of Poultry Health Management
Phone: 919 513 6330
FAX: 919 513 6464
E-mail: michael_martin@ncsu.edu


Paul Orndorff
Genetics of virulence of bacterial pathogens
Title: Professor of Bacteriology
Phone: 919 513 6207
FAX: 919 513 6455
E-mail: paul_orndorff@ncsu.edu

Barbara Sherry
Molecular basis of viral myocarditis
Title: Professor of Virology
Phone: 919 515 4480
FAX: 919 515 3044
E-mail: barbara_sherry@ncsu.edu

Sid Thakur
Multidrug-resistant food borne pathogens in animals, food and humans
Title: Assistant Professor of Swine Health and Production
Phone: 919 513 0729
FAX: 919 515 3044
E-mail: sid_thakur@ncsu.edu