skip to main content, skip to Quick links, or skip to Search

Equine Services

Contact Information

Phone: 919.513.6630 or 919.513.6659 (Ophthalmology)

Equine Medicine
The equine medicine service receives elective cases routinely between 10AM -12PM weekdays and at other times by special arrangement. Please call between 8-5 weekdays for an estimate and appointment.

Equine Surgery
The equine orthopedic surgery service receives elective cases routinely from 9AM on Mondays and Wednesdays and other weekdays as required. The equine soft tissue surgery service receives elective cases from 9AM on Tuesdays and Thursdays and other weekdays as required. The surgery services perform elective surgeries on the days they are not receiving. Please call between 8-5 weekdays for an estimate and appointment.

Emergency Services
Equine services are available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year for treatment of emergency problems. To refer a horse on an emergency basis, call 919.513.6630 during the day or 919.513.6500 after hours.

General Information

Equine and Farm Animal Veterinary Center

Equine - Doctors & Staff

Faculty - Equine Surgery

Dr. Anthony Blikslager, Professor Equine Soft Tissue Surgery
Email: anthony_blikslager@ncsu.edu

Dr. Callie Fogle, Clinical Associate Professor Equine Soft Tissue Surgery
Email: callie_fogle@ncsu.edu

Dr. Mat Gerard, Clinical Associate Professor Equine Soft Tissue Surgery
Email: mat_gerard@ncsu.edu

Dr. Timo Prange, Clinical Assistant Professor Equine Surgery
Email: timo_prange@ncsu.edu

Dr. Rich Redding, Clinical Professor Equine Orthopedic Surgery
Email: rich_redding@ncsu.edu

Dr. Lauren Schnabel, Assistant Professor Equine Orthopedic Surgery
Email: lauren_schnabel@ncsu.edu

Dr. Jock Tate, Professor Equine Soft Tissue Surgery
Email: jock_tate@ncsu.edu

Faculty - Equine Medicine

Dr. Betta_Breuhaus, Associate Professor Equine Medicine
Email: betta_breuhaus@ncsu.edu

Dr. Jennifer Davis, Associate Professor Equine Medicine
Email: jennifer_davis@ncsu.edu

Dr. Sam Jones, Associate Professor Equine Medicine
Email: sam_jones@ncsu.edu

Dr. Malcolm Roberts, Professor Equine Medicine
Email: malcolm_roberts@ncsu.edu

Faculty - Equine Ophthalmology

Dr. Brian Gilger, Professor of Ophthalmology and Diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Ophthalmologists
Email: brian_gilger@ncsu.edu

Dr. Michael Davidson, Professor of Ophthalmology and Diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Ophthalmologists
Email: mike_davidson@ncsu.edu

Residents and Interns

Staff - Large Animal Hospital